Juniper and/or windows nodes?

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
drhoades
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:15 pm

Juniper and/or windows nodes?

Post by drhoades » Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:38 am

Has anyone of you folks that have an AMD chip (ryzen or threadripper) loaded a Juniper VMX, VQFX, or VSRX image into a topology? Additionally have you loaded a windows 10 or other 64bit OS node? One of the things the EVE folks said might be a problem with AMD processors was running 64 bit guests. I'm trying to figure out what exactly that means before building a system with one of the new threadripper chips coming out.

ecze
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:54 pm

Re: Juniper and/or windows nodes?

Post by ecze » Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:34 am

The main issues are the images vendor requirements.

They usually require some specific Intel flags not present in AMD in L2 virtualization.
Of course AMD move fast and become an alternative but we didn't validate AMD. That's why , to be honest and transparent, we don't want to confirm officially that AMD is supported.

Buying a server based on AMD for big topology could cost a lot and we don't want to have any user disappointed because the AMD solution finally don't work well with EVE.

Regards,

E.

NelsonR
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:27 pm

Re: Juniper and/or windows nodes?

Post by NelsonR » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:57 pm

Hi,

I have an AMD Ryzen 5 3600 and vQFX works fine with VirtualBox KVM acceleration (Eve-ng in VB and nested virtualization)
So for I had a good experience.

Post Reply