VyOS interfaces numeration

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
akopylov
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 9:31 am

VyOS interfaces numeration

Post by akopylov » Wed Nov 01, 2017 4:02 am

Hello there.
I have VyOS 1.1.7 in my EVE-NG lab (2.0.3-84) ant it seems that it works fine, but there is a problem with interfaces numeration. There are 4 interfaces in VyOS: eth1-eth4 but on EVE-NG map they are named as eth0-eth3 and I can`t see any logic or conformity in the name scheme. E.g. during my first try the scheme was:
vyos eth1 = eve eth1
vyos eth2 = eve eth2
vyos eth3 = eve eth0
vyos eth4 = eve eth3

And during my second try the name scheme was:
vyos eth1 = eve eth0
vyos eth2 = eve eth2
vyos eth3 = eve eth3
vyos eth4 = eve eth1

Any thoughts how to fix it?

ecze
Posts: 533
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:54 pm

Re: VyOS interfaces numeration

Post by ecze » Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:12 am

using converted ova to qcow2 image and not observing such issue

Code: Select all

Last login: Sun Apr 10 19:16:48 UTC 2016 on tty1
Linux vyos 3.13.11-1-amd64-vyos #1 SMP Wed Aug 12 02:08:05 UTC 2015 x86_64
Welcome to VyOS.
This system is open-source software. The exact distribution terms for
each module comprising the full system are described in the individual
files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright.
vyos@vyos:~$ sudo -i
root@vyos:~# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 50:18:00:07:00:00
          inet6 addr: fe80::5218:ff:fe07:0/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:728 (728.0 B)

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 50:18:00:07:00:01
          inet6 addr: fe80::5218:ff:fe07:1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:668 (668.0 B)

eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 50:18:00:07:00:02
          inet6 addr: fe80::5218:ff:fe07:2/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:728 (728.0 B)

eth3      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 50:18:00:07:00:03
          inet6 addr: fe80::5218:ff:fe07:3/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:668 (668.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:98 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:98 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:6976 (6.8 KiB)  TX bytes:6976 (6.8 KiB)

boxofstuff
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 11:13 am

Re: VyOS interfaces numeration

Post by boxofstuff » Fri Feb 05, 2021 12:31 am

I ran into this myself just now, the first device per lab is OK, but if you have multiple you will notice the issue.
I had made the image as per the how to doco.
The solution seems to be,
after you install VYOS onto the HDD and before you commit the image
from vyos, delete the configuration lines that bind the HWID to the interface then save and commit the configuration

Code: Select all

 delete interfaces ethernet eth0 hw-id '50:00:00:01:00:00'
 etc
Now in eve commit the changes to your disk as per the how to doco.

Post Reply