Eve ng no ip address on interface eth0

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
ccieaa
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:29 pm

Eve ng no ip address on interface eth0

Post by ccieaa » Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:48 pm

hello ,
i m trying to install Eve ng, all goes well till i get each time No ip adresse on interface eth0.
i also reset the IP mgmt address many times, with the command rm -f /opt/ovf/.configured then reboot, but it s always the same issue. i can t assign static ip add to the mgmt interface.
any help please. !! thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 3644
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Eve ng no ip address on interface eth0

Post by Uldis (UD) » Fri Nov 13, 2020 12:15 am

but if you login in eve
and type

ifconfig pnet0
is IP on it?
if not, your network is not ok

dasronin
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:16 pm

Re: Eve ng no ip address on interface eth0

Post by dasronin » Sun Jan 10, 2021 1:30 am

Hi @ccieaa

I ran into the same issue. I think it's a bug of the latest EVE-NG Community version or something related.
I was able to solve this issue with the following workaround:

1.When you configure the Management IP through the Configuration Wizard, select the DHCP option (Do Not select the Static option because you will run into the same issue again)

2.Once you finish and you access the emulator with the DHCP IP, then modify the file:

# vi /etc/network/interfaces

3. You should only modify the eth0 interface on the file. Here's a config sample of what I used in my case:

# The primary network interface
iface eth0 inet manual
auto pnet0
iface pnet0 inet static
bridge_ports eth0
bridge_stp off
address 192.168.0.10
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.0.1
dns-nameserver 8.8.8.8

4. Sace the change

5. Restart the NIC so that it can take effect the new config. Use the command below:

# /etc/init.d/networking restart


6. You should now be able to access your emulator with the new Static IP.

I hopw that this guide is clear and that it works as it has worked for me.

Good luck :D

Post Reply