eve-ng vs gns3

Moderator: mike

sudonym366

eve-ng vs gns3

Post by sudonym366 » Sun Apr 02, 2023 2:14 pm

Hello

I am currently studying cisco and juniper certifications at the ccnp and jncis/jncip level.

While studying for my first ccnp exam (enarsi), I exclusively used cisco's cml2. However, since I am now looking at building labs that include vendors other than cisco (such as Juniper, and possibly Fortigate at some future point as well), I am trying to decide if it is better to use eve-ng or gns3.

From doing some google searching, I haven't been able to find a definitive/satisfactory answer as to which tool (eve-ng or gns3) is better. But I have noted that some cbt nuggets instructors such as Knox Hutchinson, Keith Barker and John McGovern seem to prefer eve-ng to gns3, since they have opted to use eve-ng instead of gns3 for some of their more recent courses. But that said, none of these instructors have actually provided much by way of explanation as to why eve-ng is their emulator of choice these days.

In light of the above, I would be grateful for feedback on the queries that I have:

1. What are the relative strengths and weaknesses of both eve-ng and gns3?

2. In what scenarios might one prefer to use eve-ng over gns3? And in what scenarios might one prefer to use gns3 over eve-ng?

3. As mentioned above, I am studying at the CCNP/JNCIP level, and my study interests are currently focused on traditional enterprise and service provider networking tools/ technologies. And in the future I will probably want to branch our a bit more and spend time studying automation tools and SDN. I will probably also want to study/emulate Fortigate at some future point as well. In light of these study needs, I would be grateful for advice on whether eve-ng or gns3 would be better? And furthermore, I am wondering if perhaps either of these emulators would satisfy my needs, and as such perhaps it isn't all that important which of the two I decide to go with?

terrylw64