Can I use multiple HDDs w/bare metal install?

Moderator: mike

StudentofEve-NG

Can I use multiple HDDs w/bare metal install?

Post by StudentofEve-NG » Sun Dec 31, 2023 1:56 am

Hi there,

I'm very new to EVE-NG but I have built a box to run it on bare metal. I have my hardware up and running and Community installed/updated on the 500gb M2 drive. So far, so good. But now I'd like to add a 4TB SATA drive for "bulk storage" and building larger labs. Is there a way to have EVE-NG "run" from the M2 drive but use the 4TB SATA drive instead of filling up the M2?

Initially I ran the install from USB ISO with both drives connected and it chose the 4TB SATA drive to install/run. This time I unplugged the 4TB SATA drive so it had to install on the M2. Got any suggestions on how to best use these drives?

Lastly, I'm a network guy who has used Windows his whole career. I know a tiny bit about Linux but not enough to figure this out yet.

Thanks in advance for the help and happy New Year!

rusty725

Re: Can I use multiple HDDs w/bare metal install?

Post by rusty725 » Sun Dec 31, 2023 7:13 am

It would be wise to use the same type of drives cause they have the same write/read speeds, anyways here's the guide to expand a bare metal VM disk https://www.eve-ng.net/wp-content/uploa ... ystems.pdf

StudentofEve-NG

Post by StudentofEve-NG » Sun Dec 31, 2023 8:30 pm

Thank you for the information! That document is very helpful. My apologies for not finding it during my searches.

I was using Community but have now switched to Pro because, according to my understanding of the document, I need to use the Pro version in order to get a custom disk setup during install. So I built a new bootable USB drive with the EVE-NG Pro full ISO, connected both of my drives and booted from USB ISO. Sadly, I didn't see an option to customize the disk layout. My install went from Network Proxy right to "Continue". What am I doing wrong?

Thanks again for the help!

StudentofEve-NG