not connected interfaces used to be UP/UP

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
sam4664
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 11:52 am

not connected interfaces used to be UP/UP

Post by sam4664 » Mon Feb 21, 2022 4:36 pm

Hi,

I just upgraded from Community version to Professional version and am noticing something my labs with vIOS and vSRX are behaving differently. In the Community version where I created the lab, I would configure an Ethernet on vIOS router, do a "no shutdown" and even if it was not connected to anything the interface would go up/up and similar behavior in vSRX. Now that I am running Professional those "not connected interfaces" are down/down and will not come up. I fixed it by moving the networks to Loopback interfaces for vIOS routers (probably should have done it this way to being with) and in vSRX I created network "bridge" and connected to vSRX interface (i.e. like using a generic hub or switch in GNS3).

Two questions:
1) anyone else experience the same or is this right behavior, I thought all the vXXX software didn't track layer 1?
2) is there a better work around than what I have done?

Thank you!

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 4593
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: not connected interfaces used to be UP/UP

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon Feb 21, 2022 5:52 pm

L1 UP/DOWN is not supported in any world emulators, because simply it does not
EVE Pro have feature like suspend link, which emulate such interface behave, but not for all images
Read pro cookbook.... 9.1.7

sam4664
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 11:52 am

Re: not connected interfaces used to be UP/UP

Post by sam4664 » Tue Feb 22, 2022 2:06 pm

Thank you, I will look into it.

Post Reply