Amd ryzen and issue with different images

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
sajiby3k
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:19 pm

Amd ryzen and issue with different images

Post by sajiby3k » Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:06 pm

Hi,

Tried to run latest Arista eos image on latest community.
The host processor in amd ryzen and running in VMware workstation.

For Arista VM - vlan switching does not work.

For Cisco IOSXE default template runs qemu 3.1.0. But for me only qemu 2.4 works.

Can developers will look at this?

I can provide the logs if developer needs it. Just tell me which log do the developers need.

Regards

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2943
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Amd ryzen and issue with different images

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon Feb 17, 2020 3:31 pm

It is issue with AMD..
AMD does not support newest qemu versions, and thats why node will not work...
AMD is far away from Intel in the virtualization support sorry
AMD is not in the preffered or supported CPU

sajiby3k
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: Amd ryzen and issue with different images

Post by sajiby3k » Tue Feb 18, 2020 6:52 am

Anyway to patch the kernel like this -

https://github.com/GNS3/gns3-vm/issues/130

Over there they developers bluntly said that they do not have any amd machines so they have no experience of testing code on amd.

Can eve-ng give us proper kernel support if possible?

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2943
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Amd ryzen and issue with different images

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sat Feb 22, 2020 11:38 am

blankoras wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:16 pm
For Cisco IOSXE default template runs qemu 3.1.0. But for me only qemu 2.4 works. Sarkari Result Pnr Status 192.168.1.1

If I will see those addons/spam links again I will ban you !!!
You can sort your own PC security ....

Post Reply