Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

dadasane
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Connecting two EVE-NG instances ?

Post by dadasane » Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:53 pm

Uldis (UD) wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 9:15 pm
It is all same if you would use 2 bare standalone servers
Except that everybody doesnt have 2 bare metal standalone servers :lol:
Last edited by dadasane on Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2943
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Thu Feb 20, 2020 5:51 pm

:) you seriously?

imagine these bare servers as virtual boxes (VMs) inside of single esxi or even inside of one VM ware workstation.
Logic dear, is same. And connection is VMnets not cables
It does not matter if those are Bare, 2 separate Esxi servers, or VMs inside of one esxi or VM ware workstation..

Knowing all this stuff, I will say that VM ware workstation is not carry for such heavy load..
Simply your PC even it has top CPU, will not give you result what you are waiting, or even it can crash your PC.

Verdict:
VM ware workstation is ok with one such kind of VM (max CPUx8 and 64GB RAM)

dadasane
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by dadasane » Thu Feb 20, 2020 6:38 pm

Uldis (UD) wrote:
Thu Feb 20, 2020 5:51 pm
:) you seriously?

imagine these bare servers as virtual boxes (VMs) inside of single esxi or even inside of one VM ware workstation.
Logic dear, is same. And connection is VMnets not cables
It does not matter if those are Bare, 2 separate Esxi servers, or VMs inside of one esxi or VM ware workstation..

Knowing all this stuff, I will say that VM ware workstation is not carry for such heavy load..
Simply your PC even it has top CPU, will not give you result what you are waiting, or even it can crash your PC.

Verdict:
VM ware workstation is ok with one such kind of VM (max CPUx8 and 64GB RAM)

But what would be the cause of the crash ? And What do you mean by "BAD performances" ? Bad in terms of what ? Peerings not forming between 2 nodes in different eve-ng instances ? slow graphical interactions ?

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2943
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sat Feb 22, 2020 11:36 am

If you will continue add in your post such spam links I will simply ban you from forum !!!
It is last warning !
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dadasane
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by dadasane » Sat Feb 29, 2020 1:49 pm

I ended up installing ESXi on an external SSD and it works just fine.... Now I need to figure out a proper way to move my EVE VM from Workstation to ESXi... I'm guessing I will have to change the Management IP address of my EVE VM at some point since it is not in the same subnet as my ESXi address...

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2943
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sat Feb 29, 2020 3:47 pm

dadasane wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 1:49 pm
I ended up installing ESXi on an external SSD and it works just fine.... Now I need to figure out a proper way to move my EVE VM from Workstation to ESXi... I'm guessing I will have to change the Management IP address of my EVE VM at some point since it is not in the same subnet as my ESXi address...
I will wonder if anything will work on such externel esxi :)
crash is guaranteed

dadasane
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by dadasane » Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:18 pm

Uldis (UD) wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 3:47 pm
dadasane wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 1:49 pm
I ended up installing ESXi on an external SSD and it works just fine.... Now I need to figure out a proper way to move my EVE VM from Workstation to ESXi... I'm guessing I will have to change the Management IP address of my EVE VM at some point since it is not in the same subnet as my ESXi address...
I will wonder if anything will work on such externel esxi :)
crash is guaranteed
I'll keep you posted.... If it crashes, I still have the option to find an available SATA port in my computer and plug the ESXi SSD to it.... It's all about trial and error 8-)

dadasane
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by dadasane » Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:40 am

Alright so I have spent the night moving my EVE VM from Workstation to ESXi.... I then set my ESXi Managmeent network and VM Network to VLAN 4095 (trunk) and finally changed all the network settings (Management IP address, mask, gateway...etc) to be in the same subnet as my Management network, that is 192.168.1.0....

Namely, my ESXi is .254 and my EVE VM has been set to .253.... I then rebooted the VM for the change to take effect and I am stuck at the EVE big logo.... When I type ESC I got stuck with this for 15 minutes:

Code: Select all

[OK] started show plymouth boot screen 
[OK] stopped open vSwitch internal unit
Then I got a prompt like this :

Code: Select all

BusyBox v1.22.2 (Ubuntu 1:1.22.0-15ubuntu1.4) buit-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

(initramfs)_
:roll:

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2943
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sun Mar 01, 2020 2:04 pm

Reinstall fresh eve on esxi..
I did such migrations amny times with no issues..
But needs to see what you did how and what is behave..

New eve vm on your esxi will be best answer...

dadasane
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:32 pm
Location: The Quantum Zone

Re: Connecting to EVE-NG instances ?

Post by dadasane » Mon Mar 02, 2020 4:23 am

Uldis (UD) wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 2:04 pm
Reinstall fresh eve on esxi..
I did such migrations amny times with no issues..
But needs to see what you did how and what is behave..

New eve vm on your esxi will be best answer...
I fixed it by editing the "/etc/network/interfaces" file (with the proper network parameters) and restarting the "/etc/init.d/networking" service.... No need to re-install EVE.

So far everything works fine, very fast and no crashes.... I keep my fingers crossed.

Post Reply