Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

fabiorocha.vix
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2022 10:47 am

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by fabiorocha.vix » Wed Jun 08, 2022 3:28 am

I have the same problem when using version 13.0.R1.
It is taking 20 minutes to load the image.
I also noticed some differences when starting TiMOS BOOT LOADER
(Google translator)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rpnz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 6:30 am

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by rpnz » Fri Jun 10, 2022 7:23 am

Hi there,
Anyone else have this issue with Nokia vSIM on eve-ng V5.

Thanks for your help.

fca
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2022 10:00 am

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by fca » Mon Jun 20, 2022 10:06 am

Hello,
I got the exact same problem.
Didn't find a solution even after trying several parameters and configs. I'm going back to old EVEt-NG release or will try to boot SR routers witihin VMWarePlayer instead of EVE-NG which is sad :
- I tried with/without Official VMWare tools (unsupported on recent linux version)
-I tried with compiling new release of open-vm-tools (12.0.5), unsuccessful !
- I tried embedded linux open-vm-tools, unsuccessful !
- several CPU/MEM/boot options, unsuccessful !
- try brand new lab instead of imported one, unsuccessfull !

I've lost enough time on this for now, will give a try later. Will keep track on this thread to see if there are improvements.

Franck

rpnz
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2021 6:30 am

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by rpnz » Tue Jun 21, 2022 9:04 am

Hi there,
How do I get a copy of the old eve-ng, I cannot make the Nokia vSIMs work with eve-ng V5.

I would also like to install the old eve-ng, but not sure where do I don't the old version from,

Can someone help getting the old version eve-ng in which I could at least get my Nokia vSIMs working.

I am totally stuck now.

Also looking to see if I can find alternate solution to run Nokia vSIMs as I have had no luck with eve-ng V5.

Any help will be really appreciated please.

Is the Nokia vSIMs working for any one else out there, please let us know how to fix our issue.

Thanks in advance.

mamakos
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2019 4:49 pm

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by mamakos » Tue Jun 21, 2022 5:56 pm

Hello
As stated before I did not upgrade yet to Pro 5.0 for this reason.
Yet, did you upgrade your community to the latest release (5.0.17)? More often than not there are bug fixes that are not mentioned in the release notes...

Did you try to DM @Uldis ?
Eventually did you try the live support channel?

No one has any answer but the Eve 's developers may have an explanation. Or this is a fake issue.

Ozzy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2022 9:31 am

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by Ozzy » Tue Aug 02, 2022 10:43 am

I have same issue.

1/ Boot is taking quite long.
2/ TIMOS line is not properly pasted to a host, so machine boot up like VSR.

Code: Select all

A:VSR-I# show system license 

===============================================================================
Current License
===============================================================================
License status : card reboot pending, missing license record
Time remaining : CPM A will reboot in 60 minutes
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But searching "/opt/unetlab/data/Logs/unl_wrapper.txt", it seems to me that it is at least trying to do so:
Aug 02 12:37:29 INFO: starting /opt/unetlab/wrappers/qemu_wrapper -T 0 -D 2 -t "7750SR_CPM" -F /opt/qemu-5.2.0/bin/qemu-system-x86_64 -d 0 -- -nographic -device virtio-net-pci,netdev=net0,mac=50:00:00:02:00:00 -netdev tap,id=net0,ifname=vunl0_2_0,script=no -device virtio-net-pci,netdev=net1,mac=50:00:00:02:00:01 -netdev tap,id=net1,ifname=vunl0_2_1,script=no -smp 4 -m 10240 -name 7750SR_CPM -uuid 20c9dc13-d903-43d8-87f8-7631955a9154 -hda hda.qcow2 -cpu host -machine type=pc,accel=kvm -serial mon:stdio -nographic -no-user-config -nodefaults -rtc base=utc -smbios type=1,product=\\\\\"Timos:slot=A chassis=SR-12 card=cpm5 address=172.26.14.201/24@active license-file=cf3:\\\\lic\\\\\" > /opt/unetlab/tmp/0/2549edcc-f589-4dfd-9fd8-40139387956a/2/wrapper.txt 2>&1 &
So is there an issue in this line or bug in wrapper ?!

Anyone had luck wit this ?

Ozzy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2022 9:31 am

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by Ozzy » Tue Aug 02, 2022 11:56 am

After some testing, I have two issues. First, booting of Nokia vSIM's takes quite long (tens of minutes) and it always boots up like VSR-I, not vSIM.

I did a comparison of log: /opt/unetlab/data/Logs/unl_wrapper.txt between my brand-new installation for EVE-NG 5.0.1-13, and my friend's old installation version 2 where Nokia boxes are working just fine. This is the difference:


EVE-NG 2 - where same image working fine

Code: Select all

Aug 02 12:48:53 INFO: starting /opt/unetlab/wrappers/qemu_wrapper -T 0 -D 13 -t "PE3"
-F /opt/qemu-2.12.0/bin/qemu-system-x86_64 -d 0 --  -nographic -device e1000,netdev=net0,mac=50:00:00:0d:00:00
-netdev tap,id=net0,ifname=vunl0_13_0,script=no -device e1000,netdev=net1,mac=50:00:00:0d:00:01
-netdev tap,id=net1,ifname=vunl0_13_1,script=no -smp 1 -m 2048 -name PE3 -uuid c4aac3b7-a55a-4d54-b359-ec8927903e62
-hda hda.qcow2 -machine type=pc,accel=kvm -serial mon:stdio -nographic -no-user-config -nodefaults -rtc base=2022-04-04
-smbios type=1,product=\"Timos:slot=A chassis=SR-12 card=cpm5 address=192.168.11.103/24@active license-file=tftp://root:eve@192.168.11.11/lic-r19\"
> /opt/unetlab/tmp/0/8c60c311-1038-457a-a6f0-74b8e8d5e957/13/wrapper.txt 2>&1 &

EVE-NG 5 - where I get stuck

Code: Select all

Aug 02 12:37:29 INFO: starting /opt/unetlab/wrappers/qemu_wrapper -T 0 -D 2 -t "7750SR_CPM"
-F /opt/qemu-5.2.0/bin/qemu-system-x86_64 -d 0 --  -nographic -device virtio-net-pci,netdev=net0,mac=50:00:00:02:00:00
-netdev tap,id=net0,ifname=vunl0_2_0,script=no -device virtio-net-pci,netdev=net1,mac=50:00:00:02:00:01
-netdev tap,id=net1,ifname=vunl0_2_1,script=no -smp 4 -m 10240 -name 7750SR_CPM -uuid 20c9dc13-d903-43d8-87f8-7631955a9154
-hda hda.qcow2 -cpu host -machine type=pc,accel=kvm -serial mon:stdio -nographic -no-user-config -nodefaults -rtc base=utc
-smbios type=1,product=\\\\\"Timos:slot=A chassis=SR-12 card=cpm5 address=172.26.14.201/24@active license-file=cf3:[color=#FFFF00]\\\\lic\\\\\"
> /opt/unetlab/tmp/0/2549edcc-f589-4dfd-9fd8-40139387956a/2/wrapper.txt 2>&1 &
Focus especially this part of line:

-smbios type=1,product=\\\\\"Timos:slot=A chassis=SR-12 card=cpm5 address=172.26.14.201/24@active license-file=cf3:\\\\lic\\\\\"

I'm afraid, this bunch of backslashes around TIMOS line are the bug. Resulting TIMOS line is not properly passed to QEMU. So, the image cannot boot up correctly.
Any idea where those extra backslashes are coming from, and what to edit to avoid it ?

Ozzy
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2022 9:31 am

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by Ozzy » Tue Aug 02, 2022 2:14 pm

Oki, after some research, a did following "hack" directly into a EVE-NG php code:

Code: Select all

root@eve-ng1:/opt/unetlab/html# diff includes/__node.php includes/__node.php.backup
1106,1107c1106,1107
<           return Array($bin, $flags);
< //        return Array($bin, addslashes(escapeshellcmd($flags)));
---
>           //return Array($bin, $flags);
>           return Array($bin, addslashes(escapeshellcmd($flags)));
So I comment out line with addslashes and escapeshellcmd functions, and woiala, now, timos line is passed to a host correctly. BUT, I need to use license pointer like cf3:\\lic instead of cf3:\lic.

So one my issue solved, and now, CPM si booting well, as well as linecard (iom) select correct image:

CPM:

Code: Select all

root@eve-ng1:/opt/unetlab/html# telnet localhost 32770
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.



Press any key to stop auto-boot...
 0
auto-booting...


boot device          : ata=0,2
unit number          : 0 
processor number     : 0 
host name            : 0.0.0.0
file name            : cf3:/timos/i386-boot.tim
ftp password (pw)    : *****
flags (f)            : 0x8 
target name (tn)     : VSR-I
startup script (s)   : pl=1
other (o)            : vsr-c#vsr_cpm,vsr_iom|158|0|0|0


Booting from ata=0,2:cf3:/timos/i386-boot.tim
Loading cf3:/timos/i386-boot.tim ...
Version L-19.10.R8, Wed Oct  7 17:26:44 PDT 2020 by builder in /builds/c/1910B/R8/panos/main
text:(2027904-->5805056) + data:(337056-->1886868)
Starting at 0x40000000...

(s) boot params: pl=1; setting TgtPf to 0x00000001

KVM based vcpu
Running in a KVM/QEMU virtual machine
ACPI: found 2 cores, 2 enabled

Total Memory: 10GB  Chassis Type: 0x2  Core Freq: 2992.968 MHz
TiMOS-L-19.10.R8 boot/i386 Nokia 7750 SR Copyright (c) 2000-2020 Nokia.
All rights reserved. All use subject to applicable license agreements.
Built on Wed Oct 7 17:26:44 PDT 2020 by builder in /builds/c/1910B/R8/panos/main

TiMOS BOOT LOADER
Time from clock is TUE AUG 02 13:14:46 2022 UTC
Switching serial output to sync mode...   done

Looking for cf3:/bof.cfg ... OK, reading

Contents of Boot Options File on cf3:
    primary-image    cf3:\timos\i386-both.tim
    primary-config   cf3:\config.cfg
    autonegotiate
    duplex           full
    speed            100
    wait             3
    persist          off
    no li-local-save
    no li-separate
    no fips-140-2
    console-speed    115200

Contents of Boot Options File (including bios product data)
    primary-image    cf3:\timos\i386-both.tim
    primary-config   cf3:\config.cfg
    license-file     cf3:\lic
    address          172.26.14.201/24 active
    autonegotiate
    duplex           full
    speed            100
    wait             3
    persist          off
    no li-local-save
    no li-separate
    no fips-140-2
    console-speed    115200

Hit a key within 1 second to change boot parameters...    

Primary image location: cf3:\timos\
Loading image cf3:\timos\i386-cpm.tim
Version C-19.10.R8, Wed Oct  7 17:26:44 PDT 2020 by builder in /builds/c/1910B/R8/panos/main
text:(65236640-->220433648) + data:(14692352-->121556240)

Current Time: TUE AUG 02 13:15:06 UTC 2022
Loading license file for 'TiMOS-C-19.10.R8' from: cf3:\lic ... OK
Executing TiMOS image at 0x14C000

KVM based vcpu
Running in a KVM/QEMU virtual machine
ACPI: found 2 cores, 2 enabled
IOM:

Code: Select all

root@eve-ng1:/opt/unetlab/data/Logs# telnet localhost 32771
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.



Press any key to stop auto-boot...
 0
auto-booting...


boot device          : ata=0,2
unit number          : 0 
processor number     : 0 
host name            : 0.0.0.0
file name            : cf3:/timos/i386-boot.tim
ftp password (pw)    : *****
flags (f)            : 0x8 
target name (tn)     : VSR-I
startup script (s)   : pl=1
other (o)            : vsr-c#vsr_cpm,vsr_iom|158|0|0|0

sysVmBootStringModify: modified boot file to: cf3:/timos/i386-iom.tim

Booting from ata=0,2:cf3:/timos/i386-iom.tim
Loading cf3:/timos/i386-iom.tim ...
Version I-19.10.R8, Wed Oct  7 17:26:44 PDT 2020 by builder in /builds/c/1910B/R8/panos/main
text64:(23267136-->77994736) + data64:(30548000-->58963440) + auxtext64:(31223296-->140518240) + auxdata64:(9056320-->149030000)
Starting at 0x14c000...

(s) boot params: pl=1; setting TgtPf to 0x00000001

KVM based vcpu
Running in a KVM/QEMU virtual machine
ACPI: found 2 cores, 2 enabled
Connection closed by foreign host.
root@eve-ng1:/opt/unetlab/data/Logs# telnet localhost 32771
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.

Total Memory: 10GB  Chassis Type: 0x26  Core Freq:        f MHz
TiMOS-V-19.10.R8 bootrom/i386 Nokia 7xxx ? Copyright (c) 2000-2020 Nokia.
All rights reserved. All use subject to applicable license agreements.
Built on Wed Oct 7 17:26:44 PDT 2020 by builder in /builds/c/1910B/R8/panos/main
Looking for boot parameters.



Press any key to stop auto-boot...
 0
auto-booting...


boot device          : ata=0,2
unit number          : 0 
processor number     : 0 
host name            : 0.0.0.0
file name            : cf3:/timos/i386-boot.tim
ftp password (pw)    : *****
flags (f)            : 0x8 
target name (tn)     : VSR-I
startup script (s)   : pl=1
other (o)            : vsr-c#vsr_cpm,vsr_iom|158|0|0|0

sysVmBootStringModify: modified boot file to: cf3:/timos/i386-iom.tim

Booting from ata=0,2:cf3:/timos/i386-iom.tim
Loading cf3:/timos/i386-iom.tim ...
Version I-19.10.R8, Wed Oct  7 17:26:44 PDT 2020 by builder in /builds/c/1910B/R8/panos/main
text64:(23267136-->77994736) + data64:(30548000-->58963440) + auxtext64:(31223296-->140518240) + auxdata64:(9056320-->149030000)
Starting at 0x14c000...

(s) boot params: pl=1; setting TgtPf to 0x00000001

KVM based vcpu
Running in a KVM/QEMU virtual machine
ACPI: found 2 cores, 2 enabled
BUT, there is still an issue, that boot take's toooooo long, more than hour now. And it's very hard to understand a reason why. It simply stay's frozen on the situation above, and after long long time, it finish a boot.

Unusable still :-(

Anyone else find any other possibility what to do with it ?

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 4557
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Nokia vSIM not working in eve-ng community V5

Post by Uldis (UD) » Tue Aug 02, 2022 6:09 pm

In the EVE pro it is fixed, and soon will be fix for Comm too

Post Reply