Must be executed from CLI (1).

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
richard.murphy
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 2:45 pm

Must be executed from CLI (1).

Post by richard.murphy » Fri Mar 10, 2023 5:26 pm

Hi,

I am hoping someone can help me.

I have a bare metal community eve-ng server that has been running happily for some time now.

Went to use it today and none of the nodes in any of the labs will power on, I just get the message pop up on the GUI saying "Must be executed from CLI (1)."

I'm at a loss to understand what’s change to cause this issue.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 5067
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Must be executed from CLI (1).

Post by Uldis (UD) » Fri Mar 10, 2023 9:45 pm

first try run on cli:

Code: Select all

/opt/unetlab/wrappers/unl_wrapper -a fixpermissions
and reboot your box

richard.murphy
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 2:45 pm

Re: Must be executed from CLI (1).

Post by richard.murphy » Mon Mar 13, 2023 10:35 am

Thank you very much for your help.

Strangely when I ran that command it said it was "command not found" which led me to discover the executable tag on all the files in the wrapper folder had gone. (see below)

root@eve-ng:/opt/unetlab/wrappers# sudo unl_wrapper -a fixpermissions
sudo: unl_wrapper: command not found
root@eve-ng:/opt/unetlab/wrappers#

root@eve-ng:/opt/unetlab/wrappers# ls -l
total 216
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 33720 Jan 11 2021 dynamips_wrapper
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 42456 Jan 11 2021 iol_wrapper
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 81563 Oct 25 2017 nsenter
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 29352 Jan 11 2021 qemu_wrapper
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 46 Oct 25 2017 unl_profile
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 18433 Jan 2 2019 unl_wrapper
root@eve-ng:/opt/unetlab/wrappers#

Change the ones that should be executable and rebooted and that has fixed the issue.

Many thanks

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 5067
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Must be executed from CLI (1).

Post by Uldis (UD) » Tue Mar 14, 2023 7:46 am

rebuild your eve packages

make sure internet and dns works on your eve then from cli:

for eve community:

Code: Select all

apt update
apt install --reinstall eve-ng

for eve pro

Code: Select all

apt update
apt install --reinstall eve-ng-pro

Post Reply