L2 support in Cisco

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
loocek
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2022 12:31 pm

L2 support in Cisco

Post by loocek » Fri Oct 07, 2022 12:34 pm

Hi,
Does eve-ng support L2 in Cisco ASR9kv routers ? E.g. interfaces bridging, vlans ?
Thank you.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 4654
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: L2 support in Cisco

Post by Uldis (UD) » Fri Oct 07, 2022 6:47 pm

Stop mess up EVE with vendor image features :)
if your image is supporting such request, then eve as well does it

loocek
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2022 12:31 pm

Re: L2 support in Cisco

Post by loocek » Fri Oct 07, 2022 9:39 pm

I won't be so sure. GNS3 doesn't support L2 features in ASR9k by definition. Someone from GNS3 developers told me that on their forum.
So my question here is very good.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 4654
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: L2 support in Cisco

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sat Oct 08, 2022 3:46 pm

My frined,

emulators like EVE or GNS3 re not resposible for features which are supported by particular image !!!
If image does it then EVE or GNS3 will do it as well..
Think what you are claiming here..

Example, IOL, vIOS, Nexus9000v, Ariista vEOS are preseneted as L2 virtual switches, and what this image can do,
emulators like EVE or GNS3 can do as well...
If cisco XRv9000v or CSR1000v are not expected to do do L2 features, then EVE also cannot do it..
Virtual images !!!, and do not mess virtual image features supported with real HW binary

EVE is not vendor image features developer

loocek
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2022 12:31 pm

Re: L2 support in Cisco

Post by loocek » Sun Oct 09, 2022 7:15 pm

Don't get nervous man ;) I just asked.
I got you and thanks for answer.
Cheers to all developers of eve-ng.

Post Reply