What images do I need in EVE-NG to do ENCOR and ENSARI?

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
white10
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 07, 2021 2:14 pm

What images do I need in EVE-NG to do ENCOR and ENSARI?

Post by white10 » Fri May 07, 2021 2:54 pm

As the title says. I was able to install EVE on my server with no problem, but these images is a whole other story. I dont know wtf to use for what. Dynamips? IOL? vIOS from VIRL? CML Images? I thought I could rip any IOS out of a Cisco appliance and just use it, but I'm seeing that's not the case. Which images are the best to use? I can't even figure out which ones are for routers and which is for switches. I've looked up countless pages going step by step on stuff but I constantly get errors running commands. I'm just needing resources on this setup that work.
https://192-168-2-1.link/
http://tplinklogin.info/
https://192-168-1-128.link/
Last edited by white10 on Thu May 20, 2021 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kasey009
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 12:03 pm

Re: What images do I need in EVE-NG to do ENCOR and ENSARI?

Post by Kasey009 » Tue May 11, 2021 12:25 pm

Now everytime I launch Mikrotik image with accel=kvm, Ubuntu VM crash. Without vidmate accel, no crash.

Ducati0927
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 16, 2021 12:45 am

Re: What images do I need in EVE-NG to do ENCOR and ENSARI?

Post by Ducati0927 » Sun May 16, 2021 1:13 am

Kasey009 wrote:
Tue May 11, 2021 12:25 pm
Now everytime I launch Mikrotik image with accel=kvm, Ubuntu VM crash. Without vidmate accel, no crash.
I don't think you intended for this to be applied to this post. May want to try and find the correct one. =)

StefanVe
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:39 am

Re: What images do I need in EVE-NG to do ENCOR and ENSARI?

Post by StefanVe » Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:53 am

Did you find out the best images for ENCOR and ENARSI yet?

I am still trying to look for the best image and I've tried a few, but when doing my labs, there is always some bug coming up, so if you have a list of L2/L3 images that works seamless, that would be great!

Here's what I've used so far and what issues I've experienced:

vIOS L2 image - This image worked for me for awhile until I realised I can't change the switchport mode to access. It is stuck on trunk mode.. Maybe this is only my specific image that's causing this bug. L3 etherchannel doesn't work as well.

L2-ADVENTERPRISE-M-15.1-20140814 - This worked fine for me too, until I needed to create a L3 etherchannel between two switches which doesn't work due to a bug..

i86bi_linux_l2-adventerprise-ms.high_iron_20170202 - This image solved my L3 etherchannel issue that I had...but...for some reason the ip default-gateway-command doesn't seem to be effective as I'm still not able to ping any other network than the network which the switch resides in. L3 routing on the switches works fine. But if you're using this with a L2 switch and needs a default-gateway, I couldn't get it to reach a remote network.

I'm currently doing mostly switching labs so I don't have any experiences with any routing images yet. I've tried a few but only for basic configuration.

It would be nice to get a L2(switch) image that works seamless, haha, but seems difficult.. :)

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 3995
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: What images do I need in EVE-NG to do ENCOR and ENSARI?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sun Jul 04, 2021 12:57 pm

for any routing ans witching stuff best are:
A switch, L2/L3
i86bi_linux_l2-adventerprisek9-ms.SSA.high_iron_20190423.bin

as Router:
i86bi_LinuxL3-AdvEnterpriseK9-M2_157_3_May_2018.bin

these 2 are best on today
BTW performance of IOL is 100 times better vs vIOS
IOL gives 100mbps throughput where vIOS only 1.5mbps

Post Reply