Cisco CL-9800

Here you can ask EVE-NG team to add new images to the list to play in lab.

Do not ask questions like "where I can get image x or Y" in that forum

Moderator: mike

rutkowski.net
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:11 pm

Re: Cisco CL-9800

Post by rutkowski.net » Fri Feb 12, 2021 6:03 pm

Thanks for the response. Unfortuantely still doesn't work.Installation goes fine, but still not showing in available nodes. How do I check my eve release, what release do i need to be on ? My eve is community 22022020

forman
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:20 pm

Re: Cisco CL-9800

Post by forman » Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:19 pm

Uldis (UD) wrote:
Mon Feb 08, 2021 8:51 pm
Did you pay attntion what the name must be for wlc 9800???

https://www.eve-ng.net/index.php/docume ... -c9800-cl/

upper lower case sesitive !!!!

root@eve-ng:~# mkdir /opt/unetlab/addons/qemu/c9800cl-9.16.12.02s
regarrding GUI, you must configure mate it, accordingly cisco instructions
It works


Hi Uldis,

I am able to install C9800 CL (various versions) on newest Eve-NG community edition, however, the Gi interfaces are not being populated, so I can't configure basic networkig:

WLC#sh ip int b
Interface IP-Address OK? Method Status Protocol
Vlan1 192.168.1.1 YES TFTP up down


Can you please provide any info, how to fix that?

Thank you,

Forman

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 3771
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Cisco CL-9800

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:38 pm

what NIC type is set on your template?

it must be vmxnet3
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

forman
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:20 pm

Re: Cisco CL-9800

Post by forman » Mon Feb 15, 2021 7:05 pm

Uldis (UD) wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:38 pm
what NIC type is set on your template?

it must be vmxnet3

Hi Uldis,

Appreciate quick suggestion. NIC type is set to VMXNET3. I noticed yours is set to TPL(VMXNET3).
Funny thing, when I change it to TPL(VMXNET3) and SAVE, it still defaults back to VMXNET3.

Can this be caused by me running AMD Ryzen?


Thanks,

forman


EDIT:

I was able to populate the interfaces using this config:

/opt/qemu-2.2.0/bin/qemu-system-x86_64 -nographic -drive file=virtioa.qcow2,if=virtio,bus=0,unit=0,cache=none -machine type=pc-1.0,accel=kvm -serial mon:stdio -nographic -nodefconfig -nodefaults -rtc base=utc -cdrom C9800-CL-universalk9.17.04.01.iso -boot order=dc -m 4096

With old QEMU 2.4 and VMXNET3.

Not sure it will be stable thought.
Update to follow...

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 3771
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Cisco CL-9800

Post by Uldis (UD) » Tue Feb 16, 2021 2:22 pm

TPL mean template default and it is VMXNET3
So f you set TPL it is correct if templates showing you VMXET3
Mister can you join into EVE live helpdesk please.....
https://www.eve-ng.net/index.php/live-helpdesk/

use your gmail to join or create new chat account..
believe me your problem would be solved in 2 mins

Butchie_t
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:04 am

Re: Cisco CL-9800

Post by Butchie_t » Tue Feb 16, 2021 11:23 pm

To Dan:

I was able to get to the GUI with no issues. I followed the CL9800 instructions that are located on this site and successfully booted to the CL-9800 via CLI.
I ran the setup functions upon initial boot up and entered an IP address within my lab environment.
Connecting the Management node cloud0 to the device I was able to connect to the GUI with no problems.

Post Reply