How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Moderator: mike

haskas
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 10:24 am

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by haskas » Mon May 22, 2017 10:03 am

mcat84 wrote:
Mon May 22, 2017 8:37 am
no time to download ise 2.2 iso...

I am using ise-2.1.0.474.SPA.x86_64.iso + create virtioa.qcow2 100Gb,
CPU = 2vCPU, RAM=4Gb

my eve-ng notebook: i7-3720qm cpu, 16gb ram (bare bone+gnome gui)


no problem...



Image
Maybe I'm doing the wrong thing. You can tell how you installed? Step by Step.

mcat84
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:40 am

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by mcat84 » Mon May 22, 2017 12:09 pm

[/quote]

Maybe I'm doing the wrong thing. You can tell how you installed? Step by Step.
[/quote]

i am not sure what platform are you using....but my one is easy (i am using bare metal eve-ng ...i7 notebook)

step
1. rename the iso to cdrom.iso and copy to ise-2.1 directory

2. create a 200Gb virtioa.qcow2 in ise-2.1 directory
/opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img create -f qcow2 virtioa.qcow2 200g

3. fix permission
/opt/unetlab/wrappers/unl_wrapper -a fixpermissions

4. go to gui and create lab... add ise (use vnc instead of telnet), network and etc. start the node...


try to delete the virtioa.qcow2 and re-create.

haskas
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 10:24 am

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by haskas » Mon May 22, 2017 1:26 pm

mcat84 wrote:
Mon May 22, 2017 12:09 pm
Maybe I'm doing the wrong thing. You can tell how you installed? Step by Step.
[/quote]

i am not sure what platform are you using....but my one is easy (i am using bare metal eve-ng ...i7 notebook)

step
1. rename the iso to cdrom.iso and copy to ise-2.1 directory

2. create a 200Gb virtioa.qcow2 in ise-2.1 directory
/opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img create -f qcow2 virtioa.qcow2 200g

3. fix permission
/opt/unetlab/wrappers/unl_wrapper -a fixpermissions

4. go to gui and create lab... add ise (use vnc instead of telnet), network and etc. start the node...


try to delete the virtioa.qcow2 and re-create.
[/quote]

I am using Lenovo ThinkPad T430 (Intel Core i5-3320M (2.60GHz 3MB)

haskas
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 10:24 am

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by haskas » Mon May 22, 2017 1:33 pm

mcat84 wrote:
Mon May 22, 2017 12:09 pm
Maybe I'm doing the wrong thing. You can tell how you installed? Step by Step.
[/quote]

i am not sure what platform are you using....but my one is easy (i am using bare metal eve-ng ...i7 notebook)

step
1. rename the iso to cdrom.iso and copy to ise-2.1 directory

2. create a 200Gb virtioa.qcow2 in ise-2.1 directory
/opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img create -f qcow2 virtioa.qcow2 200g

3. fix permission
/opt/unetlab/wrappers/unl_wrapper -a fixpermissions

4. go to gui and create lab... add ise (use vnc instead of telnet), network and etc. start the node...


try to delete the virtioa.qcow2 and re-create.
[/quote]

Well, today I will try again. Thank You!

mcat84
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:40 am

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by mcat84 » Mon May 22, 2017 3:26 pm

Lenovo ThinkPad T430 (Intel Core i5-3320M (2.60GHz 3MB)

For ISE
1. if your eve-ng is in vmware workstation - slow
2. ise in eve-ng (vmware workstation) - very slow
3. if you are not using SSD ---> forget about it....slow until zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

xuyou
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:47 pm

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by xuyou » Mon May 29, 2017 1:32 am

mcat84 wrote:
Mon May 22, 2017 12:09 pm
Maybe I'm doing the wrong thing. You can tell how you installed? Step by Step.
[/quote]

i am not sure what platform are you using....but my one is easy (i am using bare metal eve-ng ...i7 notebook)

step
1. rename the iso to cdrom.iso and copy to ise-2.1 directory

2. create a 200Gb virtioa.qcow2 in ise-2.1 directory
/opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img create -f qcow2 virtioa.qcow2 200g

3. fix permission
/opt/unetlab/wrappers/unl_wrapper -a fixpermissions

4. go to gui and create lab... add ise (use vnc instead of telnet), network and etc. start the node...


try to delete the virtioa.qcow2 and re-create.
[/quote]

hello

the ise release 2.1 2.2 will check the device UID,how would you passvie?

the process will halt if UID can't be check.

mcat84
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:40 am

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by mcat84 » Mon May 29, 2017 3:11 am

xuyou wrote:
Mon May 29, 2017 1:32 am
mcat84 wrote:
Mon May 22, 2017 12:09 pm
Maybe I'm doing the wrong thing. You can tell how you installed? Step by Step.
i am not sure what platform are you using....but my one is easy (i am using bare metal eve-ng ...i7 notebook)

step
1. rename the iso to cdrom.iso and copy to ise-2.1 directory

2. create a 200Gb virtioa.qcow2 in ise-2.1 directory
/opt/qemu/bin/qemu-img create -f qcow2 virtioa.qcow2 200g

3. fix permission
/opt/unetlab/wrappers/unl_wrapper -a fixpermissions

4. go to gui and create lab... add ise (use vnc instead of telnet), network and etc. start the node...


try to delete the virtioa.qcow2 and re-create.
[/quote]

hello

the ise release 2.1 2.2 will check the device UID,how would you passvie?

the process will halt if UID can't be check.
[/quote]

My test platform is bare-metal EVE-NG + gnome gui (i7 notebook)

I am using ise-2.1.0.474.SPA.x86_64.iso........never ask for device UID during install.......(i assumed you are using EVE-NG in vmware workstation...,i don't have vmware worstation to test coz i already format my notebook to bare-metal EVE-NG + gnome gui)

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2810
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon May 29, 2017 7:11 am

and 2.1 and 2.2 runs great on eve
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mcat84
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:40 am

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by mcat84 » Mon May 29, 2017 11:29 am

ok....
manage to download 2.1.0.470 and 2.2.0.470 from Cisco web site to test
(during bootup of iso, select 3. System Utilities --> 2. Virtual machine resource check)

Result -->
For 2.1.0.470.iso......it can detect the machine is a vm (therefore can proceed with installation without problem)

but
For 2.2.0.470.iso ..... it can't detect the machine is a vm ??????


it is so strange....i am using the same machine.........how come 2.1.0.470.iso is ok but 2.2.0.470 is not working ?

ecze
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:54 pm

Re: How to install Cisco ISE 2.2 on EVE-NG?

Post by ecze » Tue May 30, 2017 3:25 pm

Cisco as just tuned the VM check to support VM but not Nested VM...

Anyway, look here for some clues:

https://www.linickx.com/hacking-cisco-ise-udi

Post Reply