Cannt access to real network

Before posting something, READ the changelog, WATCH the videos, howto and provide following:
Your install is: Bare metal, ESXi, what CPU model, RAM, HD, what EVE version you have, output of the uname -a and any other info that might help us faster.

Moderator: mike

Post Reply
smilodon
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:02 pm

Cannt access to real network

Post by smilodon » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:08 pm

Hello,
i dont have access through cloud from CSR1000V in EVE - NG Lab to mikrotik router in real network. I see correct mac addresses on eve ng Ubuntu VM, but cannt ping from csr to mikrotik. Eve - NG deployed on esxi 6.0 hypervisor, promiscous mode enabled.
Mac table from Eve NG VM

Code: Select all

  
  brctl showmacs pnet0
  2     50:00:00:01:00:00       no                 1.17
  1     e4:8d:8c:d3:b4:8d       no                 0.00
  
50:00:00:01:00:00 - csr100v in eve-ng lab
e4:8d:8c:d3:b4:8d - mikrotik router in real network
from CSR

Code: Select all

R1#ping 192.168.88.1
Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 192.168.88.1, timeout is 2 seconds:
...
Success rate is 0 percent (0/3)
R1#show arp 
Protocol  Address          Age (min)  Hardware Addr   Type   Interface
Internet  10.1.2.1                -   5000.0001.0001  ARPA   GigabitEthernet2
Internet  10.10.10.10             -   5000.0001.0002  ARPA   GigabitEthernet3
Internet  192.168.88.1            0   e48d.8cd3.b48d  ARPA   GigabitEthernet1
Internet  192.168.88.100          -   5000.0001.0000  ARPA   GigabitEthernet1
from mikrotik

Code: Select all

 D E 50:00:00:01:00:00      ether4-slave-local                  bridge-local                              
 DL  E4:8D:8C:D3:B4:8D      bridge-local                        bridge-local  
 

adirbd
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:42 am

Re: Cannt access to real network

Post by adirbd » Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:54 am

Hi, I have the same problem. I have arp in both sides and the router in the lab get DHCP from my local router but I can't ping.
it's like only layer 2 work to the outside but no layer 3.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2557
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Cannt access to real network

Post by Uldis (UD) » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:05 am

It depends whwre is your EVE installed?
If it is on esxi it can be 2 reasons:

1. Promiscue mode is not enabled on VMnet in the ESXi, Enable Promiscue mode on Esxi vSwitch associated with Vmnet EVE management
2. You had Team paired NIC on esxi, remoe it, use single cable/NIC, no NIC Teaming

Rest issues usually are FW blocking on home routers etc

Uldis

adirbd
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:42 am

Re: Cannt access to real network

Post by adirbd » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:22 am

I use VMware Workstation, and when I use VM network card that works with nat it's work and then I have a ping, but I want to access from my real network to the devices.
firewall is disabled.
Promiscue mode is enabled.

Uldis (UD)
Posts: 2557
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:44 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Cannt access to real network

Post by Uldis (UD) » Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:02 am

It depends from your PC NIC card where the VM ware workstation is installed !
For example some laptop wifi NICs simply are not supported by vm ware and cannot be used bridged way.
Usually ethernet NIC is supported by vm ware, and that is your gateway to real lan.
All of this is explained in EVE Cookbook section 10.
https://www.eve-ng.net/images/EVE-COOK-BOOK-1.13.pdf

Uldis

Post Reply